Myeloma Crowd Radio

Upcoming Shows

Our Next MCRI Show: Uncovering Clues and Cures for High-Risk Myeloma using Flow Cytometry Testing with Dr. Bruno Paiva, PhD, University of Navarra, Monday, April 20 @ 11 am CST

2

Monday, April 20, 9:00 am PST, 10:00 am MST, 11:00 am CST, Noon EST

Call In by Phone to Listen Live: (347) 637-2631 or Listen Live Via Computer

Today, the myeloma community waits 2-3 years to determine if new drugs will work for high-risk myeloma patients through a lengthy trial and error process. Dr. Paiva’s goal is to use more sensitive flow cytometry tests to cut that time short and identify working therapies more rapidly. Using the older flow cytometry tests, the percentage of patients who achieve a deep minimal residual disease (MRD) response is the same for standard or high-risk patients. Additionally, the percentage of chemoresistant MRD cells is similar in both groups. With a background in the evolution of myeloma, his research aims to ask the question if using next-generation, more sensitive flow cytometry tests could identify how patients will respond to new drugs and how new treatments would impact patients with high-risk features. The new flow cytometry tests are now looking at the actual biology of the residual cells, providing clues into the discovery of cures, especially for high-risk patients. The new method is relatively fast, highly sensitive and can detect ultra low levels of MRD. 

Dr. Paiva, PhD is Scientific Coordinator of the Flow Cytometry Department and CIMA Lab Diagnostics group at the University of Navarra in Spain. He teaches courses regularly on cellular biology, techniques of quantification and analysis, new treatments in hematological cancers, inflammation as it relates to the blood and minimal residual disease. His work and that of the Spanish group has performed extensive research appreciated by the world of myeloma practitioners on the flow cytometry test as it relates to minimal residual disease. Dr. Paiva specializes in understanding the heterogeneity (or biological complexity) of MGUS, smoldering myeloma, active multiple myeloma and how it evolves. He is involved in both the detection and classification of myeloma and has written numerous papers on the topic, writing or speaking on the subject over 140 times. Dr. Paiva has also been Principal Investigator on clinical trials utilizing immunotherapies including the SAR650984 anti-CD38 monoclonal antibody. He participates as ad-hoc reviewer for Blood Cancer Journal, Blood, Pathobiology, Leukemia and several other publications. He received a premier ASH Abstract award in 2014, 2013, 2012 and Young Investigator Award by the IMF to name just a few.

 

Myeloma Crowd Radio Episodes