Our Next Show: MRD Testing in Myeloma with Dr. Ola Landgren, MSKCC, Thursday, Jan 12 @ 2 pm Eastern

0

Thursday, January 12, 2016 @ 11 am Pacific, Noon Mountain, 1 pm Central, 2 pm Eastern

Call In by Phone to Listen Live: (347) 637-2631 or Listen Live Via Computer

For the last 50 years, myeloma studies have relied on myeloma progression measurements like complete response (CR) or progression free survival (PFS) to tell whether new treatments are working (or not). Myeloma patients are now living longer because of new treatment advances, which is a huge blessing. But it is also a challenge for research. If the average patient is living 8-10 years, how can studies be performed and show results in the 2-3 year range so that the new drugs can be approved quickly? 

Minimal residual disease testing can detect very low levels of disease and being MRD-negative is linked to patients living longer. Researchers would like to use MRD testing as a study measurement. Learn about the different types of MRD tests, how to have one done and why researchers want to use this test as an end-point in studies. 

Dr. Landgren is Chief of the Myeloma Service at Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center, and Professor of Medicine at Weill Cornell Medical College. Formerly, he was a senior investigator in the Metabolism Branch at the Center for Cancer Research, the NCI in Bethesda, Maryland, and also was head of the Multiple Myeloma Section of the Medical Oncology Branch.

Dr. Landgren’s major research interests are in the causes of myeloma and how myeloma is diagnosed and treated particularly in the early stages like MGUS and smoldering myeloma. He was a pioneer in defining the standards for minimal residual disease testing in myeloma. Dr. Landgren has published numerous papers and recent awards include an NCI Bench to Bedside Award and NCI Research Highlights Award and American Society of Clinical Investigation Award.

Thanks to our episode sponsor, Takeda Oncology.

multiple myeloma

 

Share.

About Author

Jenny A

Myeloma survivor, patient advocate, wife, mom of 6. Believer that patients can help accelerate a cure by weighing in and participating in clinical trials. Founder of Myeloma Crowd, Myeloma Crowd Radio and the CrowdCare Foundation.

Leave A Reply

Please enter the correct captcha code to verify that you are human.