Our Next Show: Personalized Medicine in Myeloma with Craig Cole, MD, University of Michigan, Thursday, Nov 17 @ 1 pm Eastern

2

Thursday, November 17, 2016 @ 10 am Pacific, 11 am Mountain, Noon Central, 1 pm Eastern

Call In by Phone to Listen Live: (347) 637-2631 or Listen Live Via Computer

At the University of Michigan, Dr. Craig Cole is working on a collaboration with the MMRC to perform genomic sequencing on 500 hundred relapsed and refractory myeloma patients over a two year period. The goal is to share each patient’s genomic profile to identify patient-specific treatment options. The study will be open at 11 myeloma academic centers to begin, with more to open in the future. The tissue samples collected at these centers are shipped to the University of Michigan Comprehensive Cancer Center, which then evaluates the alterations of 1700 genes. The study aims to find the specific mutations that are “actionable,” or that have a drug that can be used against the myeloma. The study goal is to make myeloma treatment more precise for a disease that varies widely from patient to patient.

Dr. Craig Cole is Clinical Assistant Professor, Department of Internal Medicine, Division of Hematology/ Oncology University of Michigan Hospitals, Ann Arbor, MI. Dr. Cole is a member of the MMRC and their “Molecular Profiling Targeted Therapeutics Interest Group” Committee. He is Member and Founder of the Great Lakes Multiple Myeloma Working Group (GLMMWG) and is Co-Chair for the Big Ten Cancer Research Consortium Multiple Myeloma Clinical Trial Working Group. He served on the Scientific Advisory Board for Multiple Myeloma Opportunities for Research & Education (MMORE) and is a member of the International Myeloma Working Group.

Dr. Cole’s research interests include: Clinical Application of Novel Biologic Therapeutics in Multiple Myeloma, Laboratory Pathobiology in Multiple Myeloma. Measurements Psychosocial Distress in Malignant and Non-malignant Hematology Disorders. Quality Measurements and Outcomes in Therapeutic Apheresis. and Ethnic and Racial Disparities in Multiple Myeloma Education, Diagnosis, and Treatments.

Thanks to our episode sponsor, Takeda Oncology.

multiple myeloma

Share.

About Author

Myeloma survivor, patient advocate, wife, mom of 6. Believer that patients can help accelerate a cure by weighing in and participating in clinical trials. Founder of Myeloma Crowd, Myeloma Crowd Radio and the CrowdCare Foundation.

2 Comments

  1. Thank you for this wonderful conference call. As someone who has relapsed Multiple Myeloma, hearing about this approach to personalized medicine gives me great hope. How can I sign up and participate in the research as a patient? Is there a website? Could you give us a phone number to call? Thank you.

Leave A Reply

Please enter the correct captcha code to verify that you are human.