fbpx
    • Next on Myeloma Crowd Radio
    • May 23, 2018

    Our Next Show: Overcoming Proteasome Inhibitor Resistance Using a New Drug with Muhamed Baljevic, MD, University of Nebraska, Monday, May 28 @ 2 pm Central

Monday, May 28, 2018 @ Noon Pacific, 1 pm Mountain, 2 pm Central, 3 pm Eastern
Call In by Phone to Listen Live: (347) 637-2631 or Listen Live Via Computer

Many multiple myeloma patients can become resistant to an important class of myeloma drugs called proteasome inhibitors. Researchers found that expression of MUC20 could help predict how sensitive or resistant patients would be to proteasome inhibitors and found that MUC20 protein could be potentially impacted by an already FDA-approved drug offered by Amgen. 

Learn more from Dr. Muhamad Baljevic of the University of Nebraska Medical Center about how this new drug is being used in a Phase I/II clinical trial to see if patients who have become resistant to carfilzomib can overcome that resistance by adding this new drug called cabozantinib to the mix. These new c-MET inhibitors could have broader use in myeloma combinations.

Dr. Baljevic is an Assistant Professor of Medicine in the Division of Hematology and Oncology, Department of Internal Medicine at UNMC. Dr. Baljevic was He moved to Doha, Qatar on an academic scholarship in 2001 where he completed secondary, undergraduate and medical education. He was the first student of the Qatar campus to take a year off medical studies to perform medical research, having worked at the Ansary Center for Stem Cell Therapeutics at the Weill Cornell Medical College in New York. Parallel to his fellowship, he also pursued a masters degree in Clinical and Translational Research at the Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences, University of Texas. He has been a recipient of several scholarships, honors and awards, most recently the 2014 Celgene Future Leaders in Hematology Award for Clinical Research, and the 2015 ASCO/AACR Workshop on Methods in Clinical Cancer Research. He has contributed to publications in prestigious journals including Nature Medicine, Cancer Cell, Journal of Clinical Investigation, Circulation Research, Hematology/Oncology Clinics of North America, as well as several chapters by invitation.

Thanks to our episode sponsor, Celgene Corporation.

About Author

Jenny A

Myeloma survivor, patient advocate, wife, mom of 6. Believer that patients can help accelerate a cure by weighing in and participating in clinical trials. Founder of Myeloma Crowd, Myeloma Crowd Radio and the CrowdCare Foundation.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Please enter the correct captcha code to verify that you are human.

MYELOMA CROWD RESEARCH INITIATIVE
$162958 of $500,000 Raised
BRINGING THE RIGHT TREATMENT TO THE PATIENT AT THE RIGHT TIME
Please Help Us Reach Our Goal

AmazonSmile

Get Started Today.

Find a Clinical Trial that's Right for You

Go

Thanks to our site sponsors: