By Jennifer Ahlstrom | Posted - Apr 12th, 2016

 

 

 

 

Effective Combinations for Relapsed or Refractory Myeloma with Dr. David Siegel, MD, PhD, John Theurer Cancer Center, Friday, April 15 @ 10 am EST

Friday, April 15, 7 am PST, 8 am MST, 9 am CST, 10 am ESTCall In by Phone to Listen Live: (347) 637-2631 or Listen Live Via ComputerMultiple myeloma is a complex cancer and the majority of patients will relapse several times during the course of their care. With the ever growing arsenal of myeloma treatments, investigators like Dr. David Siegel, MD, PhD of the John Theurer Cancer Center are working to identify the best treatments at relapse using a variety of combination approaches. In this show, Dr. Siegel will review several important combo strategies now in clinical trials.

David S. Siegel, M.D., Ph.D., chief of the Division of Multiple Myeloma is one of the nation’s foremost authorities on multiple myeloma. Dr. Siegel’s research has almost exclusively focused on multiple myeloma and has been published in many leading medical journals, including Nature, New England Journal of Medicine, Blood and Journal of Clinical Oncology. Dr. Siegel served as the lead investigator of the pivotal multi-center, phase IIb study involving 30 cancer centers in North America that led to the U.S. Food and Drug Administration’s fast-track approval of Kyprolis (carfilzomib) for relapsed multiple myeloma patients. Dr. Siegel is one of 11 investigators nationwide who brought the chemotherapeutic agent Velcade to multiple myeloma patients through his clinical trials with the medication. Velcade is an injectable drug that blocks some of the chemical pathways associated with unregulated cancer cell growth. Dr. Siegel’s studies have shown that Velcade slows and halts the progression of multiple myeloma. He has also been involved in clinical trials for chemotherapeutic agents Revlimid and Carfilzomib. Dr. Siegel is a member of the Multiple Myeloma Research Consortium (MMRC) Steering Committee. The MMRC is a unique research model that was developed to accelerate the development of novel, cutting-edge treatments for patients afflicted by multiple myeloma by catalyzing, promoting, and facilitating collaborative research between industry and academia.

Thanks to our episode sponsor, Takeda Oncology.

multiple myeloma
 
Jennifer Ahlstrom
About the Author

Jennifer Ahlstrom - Jenny A - Myeloma survivor, patient advocate, wife, mom of 6. Believer that patients can help accelerate a cure by weighing in and participating in clinical trials. Founder of Myeloma Crowd, Myeloma Crowd Radio, HealthTree and the CrowdCare Foundation.

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT
 

Add a Comment

 

MORE MYELOMA CROWD NEWS