Our Next Show: Quad Treatment with Transplant for Newly Diagnosed Myeloma with Luciano Costa, MD, PhD University of Alabama

0

Monday, April 16, 2018 @ 10 am Pacific, 11 am Mountain, Noon Central, 1:00 pm Eastern

Call In by Phone to Listen Live: (347) 637-2631 or Listen Live Via Computer

Adequate treatment of multiple myeloma at diagnosis is a key issue for patients because their first remission is typically the longest and most durable. Dr. Luciano Costa of the University of Alabama joins Myeloma Crowd Radio to discuss the MASTER trial testing some of the best therapies for myeloma up-front: lenalidomide, dexamethasone, carfilzomib and daratumumab followed by a stem cell transplant. The same four drugs will be used after transplant as “consolidation” therapy.

The goal is to understand how much treatment could be needed to get patients into a complete remission status where no myeloma is detectable (also called minimal residual disease negative or MRD status). The four drug combination will be used before transplant. If, after the transplant, the patient still has detectable multiple myeloma, they will proceed to a series of consolidation blocks, up to three, consisting of four cycles of the KRdD at specified dosages and time frames. Patients who still show detectable disease will be given more consolidation therapy while those who are MRD negative will stop treatment. 

This is a key study because it will help investigators understand when treatment can be stopped and when it should be continued in the newly diagnosed setting. Learn more about this fascinating study with Dr. Costa on April 16th. 

Dr. Luciano Costa is Medical Director for the Blood and Marrow Transplantation Program and Associate Professor of Medicine in the Division of Hematology, Oncology and Transplantation at the University of Alabama at Birmingham (UAB). .  Dr. Costa received his medical degree and PhD in Brazil, his home country.  Dr. Costa is Associate Editor of Advances in Cell and Gene Therapy and has published over a hundred articles, books and posters on stem cell transplant and multiple myeloma.  Dr. Costa’s research interests include strategies for hematopoietic stem cell transplantation  and population outcomes in blood cancers.

Thanks to our episode sponsor, Celgene Corporation.

Share.

About Author

Jenny A

Myeloma survivor, patient advocate, wife, mom of 6. Believer that patients can help accelerate a cure by weighing in and participating in clinical trials. Founder of Myeloma Crowd, Myeloma Crowd Radio and the CrowdCare Foundation.

Leave A Reply

Please enter the correct captcha code to verify that you are human.