By Jennifer Ahlstrom | Posted - Nov 10th, 2014

 

 

 

 

mPatient Myeloma Radio: Purifying stem cells before autologous transplant using a new rabbit virus with Dr. Eric Bartee, MD, PhD, MUSC

Friday, November 14, 2014 8 am PST, 9 am MST, 10 am CST, 11 am EST Call 347-637-2631 to listen and ask questions or Listen Live by Computer Is there a way to eliminate residual myeloma cells before the stem cells are given back to patients during autologous stem cell transplant?  Dr. Eric Bartee, MD, PhD, from the Medical University of South Carolina will share his work on a rabbit virus (of all things!) to kill residual myeloma cells after they are harvested and before they are returned as part of the transplant process. Dr. Eric Bartee, MD, PhD is Assistant Professor of Microbilogy and Immunology at the Medical University of South Carolina. His research interests involve the study of virus-host interactions with particular focus on how these interactions can be used to improve therapy for patients with a variety of disorders. He is interested in the study of a rabbit-specific poxvirus called myxoma virus (MYXV) and how it interacts with normal and cancerous hematopoietic cells and is currently exploring whether the virus can be used as a frontline therapy to improve treatment of myeloma patients by directly identifying and eliminating myeloma in vivo, eliminating residual myeloma after chemotherapy, or expelling myeloma from its protected bone marrow niches. 

 
Jennifer Ahlstrom
About the Author

Jennifer Ahlstrom - Jenny A - Myeloma survivor, patient advocate, wife, mom of 6. Believer that patients can help accelerate a cure by weighing in and participating in clinical trials. Founder of Myeloma Crowd, Myeloma Crowd Radio and the CrowdCare Foundation.

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT
 

Add a Comment

 

MORE MYELOMA CROWD NEWS

Thanks to our site sponsors:

.