/
/
Our Next Show: Cellectar Biosciences' New Radiosensitive Therapy in Multiple Myeloma with Natalie Callander, MD University of Wisconsin, Monday, Sept 30 @ 10 am Central
Our Next Show: Cellectar Biosciences' New Radiosensitive Therapy in Multiple Myeloma with Natalie Callander, MD University of Wisconsin, Monday, Sept 30 @ 10 am Central image
Our Next Show: Cellectar Biosciences' New Radiosensitive Therapy in Multiple Myeloma with Natalie Callander, MD University of Wisconsin, Monday, Sept 30 @ 10 am Central
Posted Sep 20, 2019

Monday, September 30, 2019 @ 8 am Pacific, 9 am Mountain, 10 am Central, 11 am Eastern

Call In by Phone to Listen Live: (347) 637-2631 or Listen Live Via Computer

Cellectar Biosciences is working on testing a radiosensitive therapy in blood cancers including multiple myeloma. Their product, CLR 131, targets the myeloma tumors by delivering a cytotoxic radioisotope, iodine-131 directly to the tumor cells. Phase I study results showed an overall mean survival rate of 26.2 months for relapsed/refractory myeloma patients (who had received on average 5.8 prior lines of therapy). The drug was given as a one or two-dose treatment as a single agent, given during a 30-minute infusion. These results are promising when compared to recently FDA-approved myeloma treatments. 

A Phase II study is now open using CLR 131 and dexamethasone for blood cancer patients including: multiple myeloma (MM), indolent chronic lymphocytic leukemia (CLL)/small lymphocytic lymphoma (SLL), lymphoplasmacytic lymphoma (LPL), marginal zone lymphoma (MZL), mantle cell lymphoma (MCL), and diffuse large B-cell lymphoma (DLBCL) who have been previously treated with standard therapy for their underlying malignancy.

Learn more about this new approach to myeloma care in this show with Dr. Natalie Callander of the University of Wisconsin School of Medicine. 

Thank you to our episode sponsor, GSK. 

The author Jennifer Ahlstrom

about the author
Jennifer Ahlstrom

Myeloma survivor, patient advocate, wife, mom of 6. Believer that patients can help accelerate a cure by weighing in and participating in clinical research. Founder of Myeloma Crowd by HealthTree and the HealthTree Foundation.

More Upcoming MC Radio Shows Articles

Get the latest thought leadership on Myeloma delivered straight to your inbox.

Subscribe to the weekly "HealthTree Community for Myeloma Newsletter" for Myeloma news, life with Myeloma stories, Myeloma clinical trials, Myeloma 101 articles and events with Myeloma experts.

Thanks to our HealthTree Community for Myeloma Sponsors:

Genentech
Abbvie
Bristol Myers Squibb
Janssen Oncology
GSK

Follow Us

facebook instagram twitter youtube

Copyright © 2022 HealthTree Foundation. All Rights Reserved.

The HealthTree Foundation / Myeloma Crowd is a qualified 501(c)(3) tax-exempt organization. Tax ID 45-5354811

 https://www.guidestar.org/profile/45-5354811