By Jennifer Ahlstrom | Posted - Oct 21st, 2016

 

 

 

 

Our Next Show: Clinical Trials 101 and the New Myeloma Drug Selinexor with Nikoletta Lendvai, MD, PhD, MSKCC, Friday, Oct 28 @ 11 am Eastern

Friday, October 28, 8 am Pacific, 9 am Mountain, 10 am Central, 11 am EasternCall In by Phone to Listen Live: (347) 637-2631 or Listen Live Via ComputerWe're going back to basics to learn more about myeloma clinical trials. Dr. Lenvai of the Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center will join us to help answer questions like: What are clinical trials? How do you find one that is right for you? How do you join a trial? What are the costs if any? Does insurance cover clinical trials? When and why should you leave a trial? What are the benefits of being in a clinical trial? Join us for this Myeloma 101 session on clinical trials. Dr. Lenvai will also share more about the new myeloma drug, Selinexor. Selinexor is now being used in heavily pre-treated myeloma patients and is showing benefit.
Nikoletta Lendvai, MD, PhD is a multiple myeloma specialist at Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center. Dr. Lendvai specializes on using immunotherapy to improve outcomes for myeloma patients. She is currently investigating cancer-tesis antigens with colleagues at NYU, Fox Chase Cancer Center and the Ludwig Institute for Cancer Research. These antigens are proteins found on developing testis and placenta: sites that are protected from attack by the immune system.

Thanks to our episode sponsor, Takeda Oncology.

multiple myeloma
 
Jennifer Ahlstrom
About the Author

Jennifer Ahlstrom - Jenny A - Myeloma survivor, patient advocate, wife, mom of 6. Believer that patients can help accelerate a cure by weighing in and participating in clinical trials. Founder of Myeloma Crowd, Myeloma Crowd Radio, HealthTree and the CrowdCare Foundation.

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT
 

Add a Comment

 

MORE MYELOMA CROWD NEWS

Thanks to our site sponsors:

.