Our Next Show: The Myeloma-Killing Effects of Intravenous Vitamin C with Dr. Guido Tricot, MD, PhD, University of Iowa, Friday, March 31 @ 2 pm Central

1

Friday, March 31, 2017 @ Noon Pacific, 1 pm Mountain, 2 pm Central, 3 pm Eastern

Call In by Phone to Listen Live: (347) 637-2631 or Listen Live Via Computer

Today’s myeloma therapy can help patients gain remission, but the combinations can cause their own side effects because they target normal cells as well as cancer cells. Investigators at the University of Iowa including Dr. Guido Tricot and Dr. Frank Zhan have tested mega-doses of Vitamin C in combination with the standard chemo melphalan and found that the Vitamin C can kill myeloma cells while not affecting normal cells. Additionally, it boosts the power of melphalan, so that melphalan can be used in smaller doses with fewer side effects. Learn more about this exciting discovery in this show.

Thanks to our episode sponsor, Takeda Oncology.
multiple myeloma

Share.

About Author

Myeloma survivor, patient advocate, wife, mom of 6. Believer that patients can help accelerate a cure by weighing in and participating in clinical trials. Founder of Myeloma Crowd, Myeloma Crowd Radio and the CrowdCare Foundation.

1 Comment

Leave A Reply

Please enter the correct captcha code to verify that you are human.