Our Next Show: What Predicts Progression of MGUS and Smoldering Myeloma? New Study and Smoldering Myeloma Therapies with Elisabet Manasanch, MD, MD Anderson Cancer Center, Wednesday, April 26 @ 2 pm Central

1

Wednesday, April 24, 2017 @ Noon Pacific, 1 pm Mountain, 2 pm Central, 3 pm Eastern

Call In by Phone to Listen Live: (347) 637-2631 or Listen Live Via Computer

Can the genetics of myeloma or other clinical factors predict who will progress from early conditions like MGUS and smoldering myeloma to active myeloma? Dr. Elisabet Manasanch of the MD Anderson Cancer Center is hosting a study in partnership with Signal Genetics/Quest to determine what is meaningful (or not) in determining who is most likely to progress and is thus most likely to receive treatment. Dr. Manasanch is also studying the new monoclonal antibody Isatuximab in a clinical trial for high-risk smoldering myeloma patients. The road to a cure may be earlier treatment in these precursor conditions while the disease is not as complex or aggressive. Learn more about this fascinating work to prevent myeloma from ever happening in the first place.

Share.

About Author

Jenny A

Myeloma survivor, patient advocate, wife, mom of 6. Believer that patients can help accelerate a cure by weighing in and participating in clinical trials. Founder of Myeloma Crowd, Myeloma Crowd Radio and the CrowdCare Foundation.

1 Comment

  1. Joan Dimengo on

    Thank you for the great show today. It is exciting to know all the work that is being for the treatment of MM and the continued studies on the value of treating high risk smoldering myeloma.

    It was a privilege to be one of Dr. Manasanch’s patients at NIH. Please feel free to pass along my email to her.

Leave A Reply

Please enter the correct captcha code to verify that you are human.