By Jenny A | Posted - Aug 19th, 2019

 

 

 

 

Our Next Show: Creating a New Multiple Myeloma Research Center from Scratch with William Matsui, MD, Dell Medical School LIVESTRONG Cancer Institutes

Tuesday, August 20 @ 11 am Pacific, Noon Mountain, 1:00 pm Central, 2:00 pm Eastern

Call In by Phone to Listen Live: (347) 637-2631 or Listen Live Via Computer.

Why are myeloma specialists and researchers so important? What does it take to create a new myeloma research center from scratch? William Matsui, MD recently left Johns Hopkins to do just that. Dr. Matsui is the Deputy Director of the new University of Texas Dell Medical School's LIVESTRONG Cancer Institutes myeloma program in Austin, Texas. Learn what it takes to develop a new myeloma research center and lab and how it helps develop new strategies that could potentially extend lives. Dr. Matsui's unique focus on precursor stem cells, allo transplant approaches and immunotherapy in myeloma care will also be discussed. 

William Matsui, MD is Deputy Director of the LIVESTRONG Cancer Institutes at Dell Medical School. He specializes in caring for patients with cancers that involve the blood and bone marrow as well as bone marrow transplantation. Matsui came to Austin from the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, where he was a professor of oncology and served as the director of the Multiple Myeloma Program and the co-director of the Division of Hematologic Malignancies. Matsui received his undergraduate degree in biochemistry from Harvard College and his medical degree from the University of California at San Francisco. He completed his residency training in internal medicine at the University of Washington in Seattle and his clinical training in medical oncology at Johns Hopkins.

 

Thank you to our episode sponsor, Celgene. 

 

 
Jenny A
About the Author

Jenny A - Myeloma survivor, patient advocate, wife, mom of 6. Believer that patients can help accelerate a cure by weighing in and participating in clinical trials. Founder of Myeloma Crowd, Myeloma Crowd Radio and the CrowdCare Foundation.

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT
AmazonSmile
 

MORE MYELOMA CROWD NEWS

Thanks to our site sponsors:

Takeda Oncology Celgene Adaptive biotechnologies