fbpx
    • Next on Myeloma Crowd Radio
    • Dec 08, 2018

    Our Next Show: Finding new Targets of Myeloma Stem Cells to Prevent Relapse with Frank Zhan, PhD and Yogesh Jethava, MD, University of Iowa, Tuesday, Dec 11 @ Noon Central

Tuesday, December 11, 2018 @ 10 am Pacific, 11 am Mountain, Noon Central, 1 pm Eastern

Call In by Phone to Listen Live: (347) 637-2631 or Listen Live Via Computer.

Why do multiple myeloma patients relapse after myeloma therapy? Many myeloma experts believe that myeloma stem cells (or early progenitor cells before they become plasma cells) may not be killed with current myeloma therapies and could be the cause of relapse. Dr. Zhan has identified the presence of CD24 as a strong candidate as a cancer stem cell marker and believes that high CD24 levels lead to more aggressive myeloma and earlier death. His work will test patient samples for the presence of CD24 and assess outcomes while also identifying CD24 monoclonal antibodies that could impact this target.

Dr. Zhan is a recipient of a Myeloma Crowd Research Initiative (MCRI) Award. The Myeloma Crowd created the MCRI because we “Can’t Wait for a Cure.” Through the MCRI we want to help Optimize Myeloma Treatment: Bringing the Right Treatment to the Right Patient at the Right Time. The MCRI is funding three research projects – each with a different focus – that will also integrate with HealthTree, a new tool for myeloma patients. Learn more about HealthTree here:

Donate to the MCRI
Donate to the MCRI here: http://give.crowdcare.org/mcri.

Thanks to our episode sponsor, Celgene Corporation

About Author

Jenny A

Myeloma survivor, patient advocate, wife, mom of 6. Believer that patients can help accelerate a cure by weighing in and participating in clinical trials. Founder of Myeloma Crowd, Myeloma Crowd Radio and the CrowdCare Foundation.

Leave A Comment

Please enter the correct captcha code to verify that you are human.

MYELOMA CROWD RESEARCH INITIATIVE
$162519 of $500,000 Raised
BRINGING THE RIGHT TREATMENT TO THE PATIENT AT THE RIGHT TIME
Please Help Us Reach Our Goal

AmazonSmile

Get Started Today.

Find a Clinical Trial that's Right for You

Go

Thanks to our site sponsors: