fbpx
    • Next on Myeloma Crowd Radio
    • Sep 14, 2018

    Our Next Show: New 50,000 MGUS/Smoldering Myeloma Patient and Family Study with Irene Ghobrial, MD, Dana Farber Cancer Institute, Thursday, Sept 20 @ 10 am Central

Thursday, September 20, 2018, @ 8 am Pacific, 9 am Mountain, 10 am Central, 11 am Eastern

Call In by Phone to Listen Live: (347) 637-2631 or Listen Live Via Computer

Stand Up To Cancer has announced a $10 million award to a Stand Up To Cancer Dream Team focused on revolutionizing the treatment of multiple myeloma through detection of early conditions before they turn into full-blown disease. 

The team will be led by Irene Ghobrial, MD at Dana-Farber Cancer Institute (DFCI) in Boston and Ivan M. Borrello, MD, of Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine. 

The idea of this proposal is that early detection of MGUS/SMM in a high-risk population, along with a good understanding of the molecular and immune factors that lead to disease progression, will lead to effective strategies that stop disease progression and improve survival.

The Dream Team proposes to conduct a screening study of individuals over the age of 45, who are at a high risk for having MGUS or smoldering myeloma, such as African-Americans and individuals who have a first-degree relative that has been diagnosed with a plasma cell disorder. This study will be called the PROMISE study. We will focus on these populations because they are two to three times as likely than others to have these precursor conditions.

The Team expects to screen 50,000 individuals to obtain 3,000 MGUS/smoldering myeloma cases to intensively study and follow over time. The Dream Team will study this group in an effort to define biological characteristics that will help to identify which patients will benefit from particular therapies. These biological characteristics include inherited mutations, acquired mutations, and immune factors. The Dream Team will also identify lifestyle and demographic factors that contribute to disease progression, such as obesity and race.

The Dream Team will use this information to develop new therapeutics that that can be used to prevent myeloma from progressing. 

About Author

Jenny A

Myeloma survivor, patient advocate, wife, mom of 6. Believer that patients can help accelerate a cure by weighing in and participating in clinical trials. Founder of Myeloma Crowd, Myeloma Crowd Radio and the CrowdCare Foundation.

MYELOMA CROWD RESEARCH INITIATIVE
$99,715 of $500,000 Raised
BRINGING THE RIGHT TREATMENT TO THE PATIENT AT THE RIGHT TIME
Please Help Us Reach Our Goal
AmazonSmile

Get Started Today.

Find a Clinical Trial that's Right for You

Go

Thanks to our site sponsors: