fbpx
    • Next on Myeloma Crowd Radio
    • Apr 27, 2019

    Our Next Show: New Off-the-Shelf CAR T for Multiple Myeloma Targeting CS1 by Cellectis, with David Siegel, MD, John Theurer Cancer Center, Friday, May 3 @ 3:30 pm Eastern

Friday, May 3, 2018 @ 12:30 pm Pacific, 1:30 pm Mountain, 2:30 pm Central, 3:30 pm Eastern

Call In by Phone to Listen Live: (347) 637-2631 or Listen Live Via Computer.

CAR T therapy is becoming a hot area of early clinical trials for multiple myeloma patients, but most are personally customized for each patient. A company called Cellectis has developed an off-the-shelf CAR T that every patient can use. Instead of being an “autologous” CAR T treatment (where you use your own cells), this is also called an “allogeneic” CAR T, or a “donor” CAR T.

Many of the current CAR T therapies are going after a target called b-cell maturation antigen (BCMA). This It is going after a different target called CS1/SLAMF7. Learn more about this new treatment (called UCARTCS1) from David Siegel, MD, PhD of Hackensack University / John Theurer Cancer Center and how it will be used in early myeloma clinical trials. 

Dr. Siegel is chief of the division of multiple myeloma at the John Theurer Cancer Center in Hackensack, New Jersey and has made the facility one of the premier myeloma academic centers in the country. Dr. Siegel is also clinical professor of medicine at the New York University Medical Center. Dr. Siegel’s research has almost exclusively focused on multiple myeloma and has been published in many leading medical journals including Nature, The New England Journal of Medicine, Blood and Journal of Clinical Oncology.

Dr. Siegel served as a lead investigator of a pivotal phase 2B study involving 30 cancer centers in North America that lead to the FDA fast-track approval of Kyprolis or carfilzomib for relapse multiple myeloma patients. Dr. Siegel is also one of the eleven investigators nationwide who brought the chemo agent Velcade to his patients through his clinical trials. 

Thanks to our sponsor: 

 

About Author

Jenny A

Myeloma survivor, patient advocate, wife, mom of 6. Believer that patients can help accelerate a cure by weighing in and participating in clinical trials. Founder of Myeloma Crowd, Myeloma Crowd Radio and the CrowdCare Foundation.

Leave A Comment

Please enter the correct captcha code to verify that you are human.

MYELOMA CROWD RESEARCH INITIATIVE
$162519 of $500,000 Raised
BRINGING THE RIGHT TREATMENT TO THE PATIENT AT THE RIGHT TIME
Please Help Us Reach Our Goal

AmazonSmile

Get Started Today.

Find a Clinical Trial that's Right for You

Go

Thanks to our site sponsors: