By Jennifer Ahlstrom | Posted - May 11th, 2016

 

 

 

 

Our Next Show: The Evolving Role of Proteasome Inhibitors in Today's Myeloma Therapies with Dr. Jacob Laubach, MD, MPP, Dana Farber, Friday, May 13 @ 11 am EST

Friday, May 13, 8 am PST, 9 am MST, 10 am CST, 11 am ESTCall In by Phone to Listen Live: (347) 637-2631 or Listen Live Via ComputerWhile immunotherapy approaches expand, proteasome inhibitors remain a staple therapy of multiple myeloma. Learn why they are so effective, how they differ, how the new oral version (Ninlaro) is bringing greater convenience to the clinic, why they continue to be developed and how they are being used in quad combinations with immunotherapies to fight myeloma. Dr. Jacob Laubach shares who they work best for (and don't), when they should be used as maintenance therapy and how a new gene may give us clues into who will respond and who will not.

Jacob Laubach, MD, is Clinical Director of the Dana Farber Cancer Institute's Multiple Myeloma Program as well as Senior Physician of Medicine at the Dana Farber Cancer Institute and Assistant Professor of Medicine of the Harvard Medical School. Additionally, he is Associate Physician in the Department of Medicine at Brigham and Women's Hospital. Dr. Laubach is a member of the American Society of Hematology abstract review committee and reviews journal articles in publications such as Blood, the British Journal of Haematology, Cancer, Leukemia, and the New England Journal of Medicine. Since joining the Dana Farber Cancer Institute faculty in 2008, he has dedicated his efforts to the study of new therapeutic agents for multiple myeloma and was heavily involved in the study of HDAC inhibitors and the development of monoclonal antibodies daratumumab and elotuzumab. Dr. Laubach teaches regularly on multiple myeloma for students and has lectured regularly on the topic.

Thanks to our episode sponsor, Takeda Oncology.

multiple myeloma
 
Jennifer Ahlstrom
About the Author

Jennifer Ahlstrom - Jenny A - Myeloma survivor, patient advocate, wife, mom of 6. Believer that patients can help accelerate a cure by weighing in and participating in clinical trials. Founder of Myeloma Crowd, Myeloma Crowd Radio and the CrowdCare Foundation.

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT
 

Add a Comment

 

MORE MYELOMA CROWD NEWS

Thanks to our site sponsors:

.