By Jennifer Ahlstrom | Posted - Oct 21st, 2020

 

 

 

 

Our Next Show: Venetoclax Uses in Multiple Myeloma for t(11;14) Patients and Beyond with Jonathan Kaufman, Emory University Winship Cancer Institute, Friday, Oct 23 @ 2 pm Eastern

Friday, October 23, 2020 @ 11 am Pacific, Noon Mountain, 1 pm Central, 2 pm Eastern

Call In by Phone to Listen Live: (347) 637-2631 or Listen Live Via Computer

Venetoclax (Venclexta) is being studied in myeloma clinical trials and particular benefit has been seen in 11;14 myeloma patients. It is the first time a true precision medicine drug has been identified in myeloma. Which clinical trial combinations are using venetoclax, which are proving to be the most effective and is it getting closer to approval? Learn about the experiences of its use in 11;14 multiple myeloma patients and clinical trial results outside of this specific patient group. The innovation happening in myeloma is astounding and this is the first time that a personalized therapy has been identified to be effective for myeloma patients with a particular genetic feature. 

Jonathan Kaufman, MD of Emory University's Winship Cancer Institute has been involved in early and later trials for venetoclax in multiple myeloma. Dr. Kaufman is Associate Professor, and serves as Associate Vice-Chair, and as Director of the Division of Hematology in the Department of Hematology and Medical Oncology at Emory University School of Medicine.

Board certified in hematology and medical oncology, Dr. Kaufman's practice includes treating multiple myeloma and amyloidosis patients at Emory University Hospital. As a network physician, he started practicing with Emory Healthcare in 2005. He is also an active clinical and translational researcher in the fields of multiple myeloma, amyloidosis, and bone marrow transplant.

Dr. Kaufman is a member of the Discovery and Developmental Therapeutics Research Program at Winship Cancer Institute. He also holds memberships with American Society of Clinical Oncology and American Society of Hematology.

 

Thanks to our episode sponsor, Karyopharm

Related Articles:

Full Show: Using integrative medicine in myeloma care with Dr. Krisstina Gowin

Full Show: Repurposing other drugs for myeloma care with Keith Stewart, MB, Chb, MBA, Princess Margaret Cancer Centre 

Full Show: New COVID antibody testing with Stephen Russell, MD, Mayo Clinic

Full Show: Mid-Year ASCO and EHA update with Paul Richardson, MD, Dana Farber

Full Show: COVID-19 Update with Ola Landgren, MD, PhD, MSKCC

Full Show: COVID-19 and what Myeloma Patients Need to Know with Joshua Richter, MD

Full Show: Preventing Infections and Vaccination Recommendations Post-Transplant with Jennifer Saullo, MD, Duke University

Full Show: Multiple Myeloma Progress in 2020 with Robert Orlowski, MD, PhD

 
Jennifer Ahlstrom
About the Author

Jennifer Ahlstrom - Jenny A - Myeloma survivor, patient advocate, wife, mom of 6. Believer that patients can help accelerate a cure by weighing in and participating in clinical trials. Founder of Myeloma Crowd, Myeloma Crowd Radio, HealthTree and the CrowdCare Foundation.

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT
 

Add a Comment

 

MORE MYELOMA CROWD NEWS

Thanks to our Myeloma Crowd Community sponsors:

.