Our Next Show: How Sugar Molecules Act as a Multiple Myeloma Smoke Screen with Michael O’Dwyer, MD, NUI Galway, Friday, August 25 @ 11 am Central

0

Friday, August 25, 2017 @ 9 am Pacific, 10 am Mountain, 11 am Central, Noon Eastern

Call In by Phone to Listen Live: (347) 637-2631 or Listen Live Via Computer

Sugar molecules could act as a smoke screen for multiple myeloma cells, essentially hiding them from the immune system. The surface sugars, called sialic acids, can mark the cancer cells as “self” cells, giving the immune system the signal to ignore them. The glycosylation process (or the reaction when carbohydrates is attached to other molecules) is a process that produces DNA, RNA and proteins. This normal process is altered in multiple myeloma and could cause changes in cell signaling, adhesion and drug resistance. In this show we will explore how this affects multiple myeloma, how their presence can be detected and potentially treated, if food intake is related to the presence of sugar molecules and how it is tested for in myeloma.

Dr. Michael O’Dwyer is Director of the Science Foundation Ireland/Irish Cancer Society Blood Cancer Network and Chair of Haematology/Lymphoma Subgroup, All Ireland Cooperative Oncology Research Group (ICORG). He is Professor of Hematology of NUI Galway and Visiting Scientist of the Dana Farber Cancer Institute at the Harvard Medical School. Dr. O’Dwyer has expertise in the glycosylation process as it relates to multiple myeloma. In 2015, Dr. O’Dwyer received a Clinician Scientist Award worth €1.7m from the Health Research Board to establish a translational research programme in multiple myeloma at NUI Galway. This helped lead to the Blood Cancer Network, Ireland, a Science Foundation Ireland/Irish Cancer Society funded network focusing on delivery of early phase clinical trials to blood cancer patients along with establishment of a biobank and registry.

Thanks to our episode sponsor, Takeda Oncology.
multiple myeloma

 

 

Share.

About Author

Jenny A

Myeloma survivor, patient advocate, wife, mom of 6. Believer that patients can help accelerate a cure by weighing in and participating in clinical trials. Founder of Myeloma Crowd, Myeloma Crowd Radio and the CrowdCare Foundation.

Leave A Reply

Please enter the correct captcha code to verify that you are human.